Monday, July 22, 2024

Volunteers honoured for quarter century of service

City of Hobart Council has honoured three outstanding individuals who have dedicated an impressive 25 years of their lives to fostering inclusivity and harmony within the diverse local community.

The Council says Yabbo Thompson, Sajini Sumar, and David Cawthorn, members of the City’s Network for Harmony and Access Advisory Committee, have been unwavering advocates, contributing significantly to making Hobart a more welcoming and accessible city.

Yabbo Thompson is a pivotal force in the formation of the Network for Harmony, the official Multicultural Advisory Group, and has been instrumental in championing the cause of cultural and linguistically diverse communities for over two decades.

“Yabbo’s commitment to fostering a harmonious city is truly commendable,” said Hobart Lord Mayor, Anna Reynolds.

“Her tireless efforts have not only raised awareness about issues of racism but have also enriched the cultural fabric of Hobart. We are grateful for her 25 years of unwavering dedication.”

David Cawthorn is a valued member of the Access Advisory Committee and has been a relentless advocate for people with disabilities.

Hobart Welcoming and Inclusive City Portfolio Chair, Councillor Zelinda Sherlock said Mr Cawthorn’s dedication to breaking down barriers in the built environment was commendable.

“His lived experience and expertise as a trained access consultant have significantly contributed to making Hobart a more accessible city for all,” Cr Sherlock said.

“We appreciate his 25 years of invaluable service.”

Sajini Sumar is another stalwart member of the Network for Harmony and has been a passionate advocate for cross-cultural understanding and harmony, particularly focusing on aiding new migrants in developing networks within the community.

“Sajini’s work embodies the spirit of inclusivity that defines Hobart. Her dedication to promoting multiculturalism and addressing racism has been exemplary,” the Lord Mayor said.

“We are fortunate to have such a committed advocate among us.”

The Council says the volunteers have played pivotal roles in shaping the city’s commitment to multiculturalism.

Their work includes initiatives to enhance positive perceptions of multiculturalism, maintain clear and consistent communication with multicultural communities, and increase the participation of diverse communities in city life.

The Networking For Harmony Multicultural Advisory Group, to which Yabbo Thompson and Sajini Sumar belong, actively supports these initiatives, providing crucial input to strategy and policy formulation, and driving impactful actions that resonate across the community.

The trio were recently honoured at the City of Hobart’s volunteer recognition awards night, which has replaced the City’s community awards event.

Latest Articles