Monday, June 24, 2024

Queensland closes border to NSW ‘hot spots’

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk will slam the state’s border shut to six NSW local government areas from 1am tomorrow.

The Premier today declared the areas – Sydney, Bayside, Woollahra, Canada Bay, Inner West, Waverley and Randwick – as COVID-10 hot spots.

From 1am on Thursday, Queensland will close its borders to residents from the council areas, she said.

Travellers from the nominated areas will be banned from entering Queensland, while Queenslanders returning from those areas will be placed into hotel quarantine.

She said non-Queensland residents who had visited the hot spot areas would need to obtain an exemption to enter the sunshine state and would also need to quarantine.

Chief Health Officer, Jeannette Young said the risk of contracting the virus was much higher now than it was a year ago.

“At the start of this pandemic I spoke about 15 minutes of close contact being a concern. Now it looks like it’s five or 10 seconds,” Dr Young said.

“We’re seeing fleeting contact leading to transmission.”

Latest Articles