fbpx
Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Best ever Camden Seniors Festival set to kick off

Camden Council’s Seniors Festival program has never looked so robust, boasting a jam-packed February and March for residents aged 55 years and over.

The program promises something for everyone in the categories of entertainment, fitness, technology and health and wellbeing, including:

  • Valentine’s Day Concert on Tuesday 14 February, 10am-1pm;
  • Celebrating Seniors in Style – Seniors Fashion Show and High Tea on Tuesday 21 February, 11am-1pm;
  • Celebrating Seniors in Style – Photo Exhibition from Friday 25 February to 10 March;
  • Forget-Me-Not Concert as part of Café Connect on Wednesday 1 March, 11am-1pm;
  • Take the Plunge! free pool entry program from Wednesday 1 February to Sunday 12 February;
  • Pryme Movers Program, with exercise sessions on Friday 24 February, 8.30-9.15am, Monday 27 February, 11.30am-12.15pm, Tuesday 28 February, 11.30am-12.15pm and Wednesday 1 March, 8.30-9.15am;
  • Tech Savvy Seniors Program, with information technology workshops at Narellan Library on Thursday 2 February, 10am-noon, Monday 6 February, 10am-noon and Tuesday 7 February, 10am-noon; at Oran Park Library on Friday 3 February, 10am-noon; and at Camden Library, on Thursday 9 February, 10am-noon and Friday 10 February, 10am-noon;
  • Train Your Brain Workshop on Wednesday 8 February, 10am-noon;
  • Affordable and Healthy Cooking Workshop as part of Café Connect on Friday 17 February, 10am-12.30pm;
  • Gentle Yoga and Mindful Movement Session as part of Café Connect on Friday 17 February,11-11.45am; and
  • Men’s Intergenerational Affordable and Easy One Pan Cooking Workshop on Thursday 23 February, 6-8pm.

Mayor of Camden, Therese Fedeli, said the focus and theme of this year’s Seniors Festival was to ‘celebrate together’.

“We want our local seniors to feel comfortable enjoying new experiences, continuing their learning, developing their skills and having fun with what’s on offer across Camden,” Cr Fedeli said.

“This year’s activities promote building inclusive communities and provides an opportunity for seniors to try new things, contribute and remain active and engaged in their local communities.

“I hope the events and activities offered throughout February and March inspire seniors to connect, stay active, share skills and keep doing the things they enjoy, together!”

For more information on Council’s Seniors Festival program for 2023, including how to register for events, visit https://www.camden.nsw.gov.au/community/support/older-people/seniors-festival-2023/

   

Latest Articles