Thursday, July 25, 2024

Long-serving MP honoured with Key to City

Long-serving Member of the NSW Parliament, Richard Amery, has received one of the Blacktown City community’s highest honours.

Blacktown City Mayor, Brad Bunting awarded Mr Amery the Key to Blacktown City in recognition of the major infrastructure and important public services the Council says he helped improve through his work.

“Richard’s name is known throughout the community thanks to his legacy of delivering for the area,” Mayor Bunting said.

“He was keenly attuned to people’s needs and worked hard to deliver solutions both during and outside of his parliamentary career.”

Mr Amery served Blacktown City in NSW Parliament for 32 years. He was Member for Riverstone for eight years and then became the longest-serving Member for Mount Druitt (24 years).

Former Member for Londonderry Allan Shearan, Blacktown City Mayor Brad Bunting, Key to the City recipient Richard Amery and wife Marie Amery, Member for Mount Druitt Edmond Atalla.

Mr Amery served eight years as a minister in the cabinet of Premier Bob Carr, in the portfolios of Minister for Agriculture, Land and Water Conservation and Corrective Services.

His advocacy for constituents delivered benefits including:

  • extensions to Mount Druitt TAFE
  • the upgrade of Mount Druitt railway station
  • the Mount Druitt Hospital palliative care ward
  • Chifley Senior College’s Mount Druitt

Prior to his parliamentary career, Mr Amery served as a police officer for 13 years. He also served on the board of directors of Mount Druitt Hospital, worked on the management committee of Rooty Hill School of Arts and was involved in Girl Guides.

Richard lives in Rooty Hill with wife Marie and has set a fine example of community service for his children and grandchildren.


Member for Riverstone                                  1983 – 1991

Member for Mount Druitt                               1991 – 2015

Minister for Agriculture                                  1995 – 2003

Minister for Land and Water Conservation     1997 – 2001

Minister for Corrective Services                     2001 – 2003.

Latest Articles