Monday, July 22, 2024

Pathology lab upgrade for Cooma

Patients in southern NSW are set to benefit from a new, state-of-the-art pathology laboratory at Cooma Hospital, which is now open.

Regional Health Minister, Ryan Park said the new laboratory was completed as part of the NSW Government’s $26.5 million investment in the Cooma Hospital redevelopment, which includes upgrades to existing facilities that will deliver high quality healthcare for the Cooma region now and in the future.

“The Cooma Hospital redevelopment has delivered an expanded emergency department and a new maternity department, as well as a new ambulatory care centre which opened earlier this month,” Mr Park said.

“Staff at Cooma Hospital will have access to the best facilities and equipment with the latest technology, including new chemical analysers as part of NSW Health Pathology’s $29 million rollout of the latest technology across regional NSW.

“These analysers will enhance pathology services for the people of Cooma and surrounding communities in south-eastern NSW, providing a range of common pathology tests including liver and kidney function tests and monitoring for diabetes.”

Member for Monaro, Minister Steve Whan, welcomed the laboratory opening.

“This laboratory represents a much-needed boost for patients and pathology staff here at Cooma Hospital,” Mr Whan said.

“Pathology is a crucial tool that helps doctors detect, treat and monitor disease.”

The laboratory will have advanced testing technology, including Point of Care Testing to support real-time bedside testing, which can be lifesaving for people suspected of having a heart attack or sepsis. There will also be onsite, lifesaving blood transfusion services available.

The Cooma pathology laboratory operates 7-days-a-week and performs more than 40,000 pathology tests each year.

Other regional locations to benefit from the NSW Health Pathology’s chemical analyser rollout include Bathurst, Bega, Broken Hill, Bourke, Cootamundra, Cowra, Deniliquin, Dubbo, Forbes, Griffith, Goulburn, Lithgow, Moruya, Mudgee, Orange, Queanbeyan, Tumut, Wagga Wagga, Walgett and Young.

Latest Articles