Six hospitals named as vaccine ‘hubs’

Six hospitals have been named as ‘hubs’ for the rollout of Queensland’s COVID-19 vaccine jab program.

Health Minister Yvette D’Ath said Cairns Hospital, Townsville Hospital, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, Princess Alexandra Hospital, Sunshine Coast University Hospital and Gold Coast University Hospital will act as the state’s ‘hubs’ for the Pfizer vaccine.

“Using these facilities as a base for this rollout means we can manage the logistics of the Pfizer vaccine, which is actually quite complex,” she said.

“It has strict limitations on its storage, transport and distribution which makes it unsuitable for how we would normally rollout a widespread vaccination campaign.

“We have chosen our state’s largest hospitals, from the top and tail of our state.

“Queensland will begin this process as soon as we receive the first Pfizer vaccines from the Federal Government.

She said Priority Group 1A would be the first to receive a vaccination. 

Queensland Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young said the group included quarantine and border workers, frontline (COVID) health workers, aged care and disability care staff and aged care and disability care residents.

“When it’s appropriate for you to get a vaccine, I urge you all to do so,” Dr Young said.

“Queensland has fared so well during this pandemic because of the public’s responsiveness. I thank you all.

“We are ensuring we first protect the people who need it most. These are the people who are most at risk of exposure and severe disease.”

To stay up to date with the latest COVID-19 vaccination information for Queensland, visit