Tuesday, April 23, 2024

New deputies fit the bill

Deputy Commissioner Ross Guenther.

Decorated senior Victorian police officers, Ross Guenther and Neil Paterson, were today appointed as Deputy Commissioners at Victoria Police.

The appointments will fill a newly created Deputy Commissioner position within the Police Command as well as the vacancy left by former Deputy Commissioner, Shane Patton, who was appointed Chief Commissioner in June 2020.

Minister for Police and Emergency Services Lisa Neville said Victoria Police will now have four Deputy Commissioners, with the additional role to focus on counter terrorism.

“All Victorians can be proud to have two experienced and senior police officers leading Victoria Police as it works to respond to these unprecedented challenges and support a safer community,” said Ms Neville.

Mr Guenther APM has served as Assistant Commissioner, Counter Terrorism since 2015, and has more than 35 years’ experience in policing, specialising in specialist operations and Crime Command.

“I love being part of Victoria Police and hope that my leadership will contribute to making our organisation stronger, healthier and a pinnacle of professionalism,” said Deputy Commissioner Guenther.

Deputy Commissioner Neil Paterson.

Neil Paterson APM has served as Assistant Commissioner, Intelligence and Covert Support Command, since 2015, and brings more than 32 years’ experience in Victoria Police to the role.

“I’m committed to improving community safety and in ensuring that Victoria Police remains agile to meet the needs of everyone in the community that we serve,” said Deputy Commissioner Paterson.

Both Deputy Commissioners have been appointed for five years and commence in the role from today.

Ms Neville said the Chief Commissioner will assign Deputy Commissioner portfolios soon.

Latest Articles